Quality: A Continuing Quest

The multi-faceted quality initiatives at Tata Interactive Systems extend beyond project schedules and defect density, spanning every aspect of business excellence from customer relationships and product innovation to environmental concern and social responsibility.

Quality: A Continuing Quest
Defect Prevention Using Six Sigma
Tata Business Excellence Model
Balanced Score Card

Tata Interactive Systems was assessed at Level - 5 in the Carnegie Mellon Software Engineering Institute's Capability Maturity Model (SEI-CMM) in 2001

SEI-CMM describes an evolutionary path for software processes to mature from ad hoc approaches to a well-managed discipline. The predictability and effectiveness of an organization's software processes improve as the organization moves from Level 1 to Level 5 on the SEI-CMM scale. CMM Level 5, the highest level in the maturity model, implies continuous improvement. Our CMM Level 5 status means that our processes lead to predictably better products in terms of quality, cost, and schedule.

Defect Prevention, Technology Change Management, and Process Change Management are the key process areas under CMM Level 5 that help us achieve this. The assessment was conducted by KPMG.

Tata Interactive Systems was assessed at Level - 5 in the People Capability Maturity Model (P-CMM) in 2003. The People Capability Maturity Model P-CMM adapts the maturity framework of the Capability Maturity Model for Software (CMM) to manage and develop an organization's workforce.

The motivation for the P-CMM is to radically improve the ability of the organization to attract, develop, motivate, organize, and retain the talent needed to continuously improve software development capability. The P-CMM framework helps organizations improve the maturity of their human resource practices by establishing a program for continuous development of people and processes. In short, it helps promote a culture of excellence and innovation. The assessment was conducted by KPMG.

Tata Interactive Systems has adapted Six Sigma tools and techniques like Process Mapping, Root Cause Analysis and Failure Mode Effect Analysis (FMEA) into our project execution process.

Using stringent defect prevention systems, we identify common causes for defects and eliminate them systematically. We believe in relentlessly improving our internal processes thereby increasing the benefits offered to clients.

Tata Interactive Systems is ranked in the Emerging Industry Leader category according to the Tata Business Excellence Model (TBEM).

The TBEM is based on the internationally renowned Malcolm Baldrige Model. A pool of assessors from other Tata companies assess the health of the organization in the areas of Leadership, Strategic Planning, Customer Focus, Measurement, Analysis and Knowledge Management, Workforce Focus, Operations Focus, and Business Results. Assessment of management and improvement of safety processes is given special emphasis.

The Balanced Score Card (BSC) is the framework for our performance management process, reflecting the central role strategy plays at TIS. The BSC has helped us cascade our strategy to our various business units and into project and individual performance measures. The BSC provides a framework to look at the strategy used for value creation from four different perspectives:
  • Financial-the strategy for growth, profitability, productivity, and risk viewed from the perspective of the financial stakeholders
  • Customer-the strategy for creating value and differentiation from the perspective of the customer
  • Internal Business Processes-the strategic priorities for various business processes that create customer satisfaction
  • Learning and Growth-the priorities to create a climate that supports organizational change, innovation, and growth

Tata Interactive Systems is ISO9001: 2008, ISO27001:2005, and TickIT certified organization

The independent DNV (Det Norske Veritas) foundation has awarded the TickIT certification to Tata Interactive Systems. DNV does periodic external audits to ensure that all ISO9001:2008 (for quality management) and ISO27001:2005 (for information security managementstandards are being adhered to.